RSS

Random Photos

04 Jun

I’m still decompressing. In the next day or so, I’ll post more of a story about whats gone on since arriving at Georgia Veteran’s State Park on Monday.  In the meantime, here are a few random photos from the journey so far:

vienna ga mural 1

Mural – Vienna, GA

Here are a couple of murals on facing sides of an alleyway I passed in Vienna, GA, about 30 minutes short of our first destination.  I drove about a mile before saying to Frank, “We’re not on a deadline, right?  I want to go back and take a photo of that … it was pretty cool!”  Frank was cool about it … just so long as food was going to be part of the equation in the next hour or so (it was). I took this as a good sign that healing was under way though.  I could just as easily have raced on to Cordele instead of slowing down my “pace” from how I’ve lived most of my life – in a hurry to get somewhere.  There’s truth in the old saying “The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get,” though … at least as it pertains to me.

vienna ga mural 2

Mural #2 – Vienna, GA

There was a couple sitting outside the store on the corner where the mural began.  Judging from the nonchalant look they gave me, I wasn’t the first person who’s stopped to snap a shot.  Probably won’t be the last, either!

Frank is pretty funny … whenever I’ve gotten out of the car on this trip, he always slides over into the driver’s seat.  I still haven’t figured that out.  Don’t know if he’s giving serious consideration to taking the reins on this journey or figures it’ll be that much easier to greet me on my return.  I’ll tell you one thing though – it’s hell getting him to move back over into the passenger seat!  He has a little stubborn streak running through him – tere has been more than one occassion where he’s moved over tothe navigator’s seat, plopped down and let out a big, Pffffft” through his jowls.  Frank does “indignant” better than any dog I’ve ever seen!

gvsp campsite

Here’s our first campsite. There’s a story behind the setup that I’ll share in another post.

Here’s our campsite.  I’ll tell you  that I learned a lot setting up camp for the first time.  I’ll share more of that in my next post.  The view is great.  I know at some point during our stay, I’m going to have to get off my ass and walk around a bit.  Right now though, I’m very content to sit in the shade at the picnic table and just chilllllllllllllll.

There’s a pretty good story surrounding the setup.  I’ll share that in a day or two.  Actually, there’s more than one story, one very positive and the other one … well, let’s just say I misunderstood how far away I was situating myself from the loo!  Not the type of “adventure” I was really planning on signing up for.  Frank’s laughing because he knows he gets to go anywhere!  As an aside, if we are ever visited by beings from another planet and they notice humans walking around behind their pets, picking up their poo and putting it in little plastic bags, don’t you think they’re going to get the wrong impression as to who exactly is in charge down here?   :o)

gvsp camp view 1

We have a marvelous view from the picnic table. Very relaxing, to say the least!

Here’s a view from the picnic table looking off to the southwest.  The tent door opens to the south, facing the lakeshore about 20 feet away.  It’s pretty narrow there … but we’re at the end of a little inlet.  The lake opens up to a huge expanse to the west … we can only see a little bit of it.  But what we area ble to see is quite serene and restful.  Except for the gator warnings.  We still haven’t seen any. Knock on wood!

That’s it for now.  I have to say that I’ve been sleeping like a bear in winter. I’ve been getting up early, but have been asleep by 9:30 – 10:00 each night since arrival.  And naps … I’ve rediscovered naps.  Pretty cool.  I think I’m off to take one in now. I can’t go to bed early tonight. I want to catch the NBA championship opening game between my Golden State Warriors and the Cleveland Cavaliers. After suffering through painful years of rooting for a pitiful team, there’s no way I’m going to miss Game 1.  Go Dubs!!!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 4, 2015 in Travels

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Random Photos

  1. caboscloud

    June 5, 2015 at 6:33 pm

    Hey Jeff … what’s your set up to watch tv (when you were talking about watching the Finals)? I don’t know a lot about camping so I find it very interesting! Sean

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. ustabe

    June 5, 2015 at 8:47 pm

    Sean, I caught the game on SiriusXM radio. That was my only option at this park. I AM set up for TV, but the campsite has to offer cable (which isn’t the case here). There are 3 parks I’m staying at in late 2015 and early 2016 that provide a cable box at no cost (you just have to pay a deposit). I bought an HDTV adapter that I’ll plug into a USB port on the laptop and will connect to the cable box. At least I’ll get to watch the Super Bowl. Other than that, I have Amazon Prime for movies (the have a great library that’s included with the price of the subscription) and Hulu if I feel like watching some old shows. I don’t think I’m going to be watching much though .. both of those services are going to be dependent on the quality of each campsite’s WiFi connection. If the rest of them are like the one here at Georgia Veterans State Park, I’m not going to have the necessary bandwidth. Not a big deal though. I’m already hooked on just looking at the incredible scenery I’ve been blessed with so far. ;o)

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
