RSS

Enjoying Colorado Decompression

14 Aug

If things had worked out as originally planned, I’d be in a new location today. As it is though, I’ve got a whole ‘nother month before having to deal with breaking camp. When it first happened that we needed to find an alternate campsite, a lot of friends tried to help me put my initial reaction aside. They offered up the bright side of things (“One less move you’ll have to do,” “This other place will be better for you,” and “You were really lucky the next place was able to take you early,” for example.

And they were right. I didn’t realize the avoided move date until late afternoon Wednesday. And when that happened, a huge grin came on me. I’m just really relaxed and am not quite ready for that to end. Not that it has to be any different when I make it to La Veta next month … I’m just feeling incredibly mellow. The last three-plus weeks have allowed for an incredible period of decompression. As I sit here, I’m hard-pressed to remember when I’ve gone this long without feeling heightened levels of anxiety and depression, flash-flood warning aside … we’ve had another one in the past week and the river didn’t rise a foot. I’ll be alert, but I sure as hell won’t sweat it like I did the first one.

I remember something another blogger wrote to me: The Traveling Rabbit. Check out her blog – she talked about her own experiences living on the road and said that it would “invigorate” me. And that after not dealing with the struggles of a “normal” life for a period of time, I’d find “release”. I think I’m there.

Remember the last post, where I noted that Frank and I had done absolutely nothing? Well, we accomplished more of the same this week, too! Frank’s pretty much done with the little summer home he’s been excavating under the bushes and I alternate between sitting at the picnic table and the camp chair. We’ve gone a couple of walks and have visited the river a few times, too so that Frank can lay in the water and let it cool his belly. But that’s the extent of it.

The weather has been exceptional. Real feel temps in the mid-80’s during the day, but it’s been getting down into the high-40’s at night … Frank’s decided warmth was worth the chance of getting kicked and has deigned to sleep with me on a couple of those really cold nights. I think I will invest in a doublewide sleeping bag for when I hit south Texas – according to all I’ve read about this year’s El Nino, we’re going to be enduring lower-than-normal temps and higher-than-normal precipitation. I’d just as soon be warm while doing it.

We did go to town on Sunday. We were down to our last $80 before the next Social Security payment arrival on the 19th. We bought water and a bunch of canned goods that were on sale for $1 each. Mostly Chef Boyardi, but also picked up some chile and tuna as well. Looks like we’ll make it through Tuesday with about $20 to spare. I know I’m back to losing weight, just from sitting at the picnic table. I’m pretty sure I’ve dropped another 20 lbs since arriving here.

We’ve been without Internet for almost 48 hours, too. Went out late Tuesday afternoon and only came back on around 4pm on Thursday. We put that time to good use by … again … doing nothing. It’s been glorious!

The only other thing of note was that we stayed up for the Perseids meteor shower on Wednesday night, but I’d like to talk about that in a separate post, tomorrow.

So that’s it! I could really get used to this.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 14, 2015 in Travels

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Enjoying Colorado Decompression

  1. Jen

    August 14, 2015 at 11:42 pm

    Sounds wonderfully relaxing! Glad you two are getting on well! Take care Jeff and Frank. 🙂

    Like

     
    • ustabe

      August 15, 2015 at 8:23 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Jen. Yes, incredibly relaxing to say the least! :o)

      Like

       
  2. dale isom

    August 15, 2015 at 2:29 am

    sounds like ur enjoying life and learning to imagine the best and feel the best and it will continue to come forward to u–Glad u and Frank are enjoying yourselves–Maybe the angels will surprise u with a small camper for the winter and u can stay indoors when needed–may the angels keep watch over u and Frank–blessings to u Jeff

    Like

     
    • ustabe

      August 15, 2015 at 8:24 pm

      Thank you as always for your thoughts and prayers, Dale. I don’t know if I can make the camper happen by the time the winter hits, but it’s something I am looking into.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
