RSS

Oh, the Weather Outside …

10 Dec

… is FANTASTIC!

We’re finally in the midst of really good weather here in south Texas. The rain’s gone away for now … hasn’t been around since Thanksgiving weekend. It’s been replaced by moderate daytime temps and cool evenings. Wind picks up every now and then, but nothing we can’t handle It’s been wonderful for doing absolutely nothing!

I’m sure glad I thought to break out the heater, though. It’s been on about three or four evenings a week now and has definitely added to the tent’s comfort. It doesn’t heat up the whole tent, mind you since it’s not that strong a unit. It does a great job keeping about a 4’x5′ area nice and comfy, though. That’s about the size of the area in front of the air bed, where I spend my evenings web surfing, playing with Frank, listening to the SiriusXM box or trying to read. I don’t do well with reading lately – it doesnt take more than 3 pages before I’m out. Sound asleep. Even something that’s interesting … just can’t do it. I’m thinking about getting a Kindle. I don’t have any problem reading stuff on the web; maybe it’ll be easier to read a book if it’s on a screen.

About the only weather-related issue we’ve had is that the mornings are particularly dewy these days and I didn’t have a chance to waterproof the rainfly before putting up the tent for the first time. There’ve been a few mornings where I’ve woken up to little droplets of water hitting me smack on the forehead. Not a big deal though – at least compared to other stuff that’s crossed our paths over the past month. Compared to losing a tent, breaking a tooth and having to adjust trip schedules on the fly? A dewy forehead is a walk in the park! :o)

teton cot

The Teton XXL cot 85″ x 40 and stronger than all get-out!  (When in Texas, speak like Texans!)  :o)

That’s not to say we haven’t had to deal with problems. The latest one? Our air bed went south again. Walked into the tent on Monday night to find it was totally flat. One of the seams blew after only 3 months of use … just like the one it replaced under warranty 3 months earlier! Amazon was really, really cool about it though. I told them that I felt it was either a poor design or shoddy materials, but that I didn’t want to get another one. They agreed and offered a full refund in the form of a gift card. It was available within an hour of the phone conversation and I used it to buy a heavy-duty cot. It’s not as wide as the queen size air bed, but at 40″, it’ll still be wide enough for Frank to lie next to me at night without being in danger of getting knocked to the floor if I happen to turn over. There’s going to be a lot of excess sleeping bag hanging over the sides, but that should actually be a good thing – it’ll allow for turning over within the bag itself rather than having the bag so tight that it turns with me (and suffocates ole’ Frank!)

The cot arrives tomorrow. Can’t wait … it’s been hell sleeping on the ground the last couple of nights. Not looking forward to tonight either, but I guess you can endure pretty much anything if you know it’s not going to last.

That sign on the dashboard is helping – “It’s all worked out before. Trust that it will work out again.” It’s right there every time I get in the car.

I did an actual grocery shopping this week, too. First time since I was in La Veta that’s happened. Hurrah … it’s a good thing. Len and Susie told me that I could use the crisper drawers and the door storage in the fridge where they store cold drinks for sale to the RVers. That was very nice of them to do. It’s a helluva lot easier to use that than to have to replace ice in the cooler on a continual basis.

I’m not cooking yet. I’ve bought vegetables and fruit, some yogurt, some cheese and lean cold cuts. I’ve promised myself that I’ll cook something for Christmas. Maybe some steak. Or burgers. I’m sure Frank would like a burger! :o)

Speaking of Christmas, I’m proud to say that I’ve been able to keep from falling into the abyss for the moment. No really “down” emotions to deal with right now. Being outside, under the trees have helped a lot. I’ve taken a lead from my buddy, Frank – no afternoon is too good that you can’t while it away relaxing under a tree! We’ll just hang out here and enjoy not being in snow!

I’m going to end it here. Plan on being back tomorrow to post some more, including a backlog of photos we’ve taken since leaving Colorado. Not a lot, but some aren’t bad. Writing helps keep me in the present and I need to be doing a couple of blog posts a week.

Oh yeah … finally!  I figured out how to post a video from my phone. Not sure if I can repeat it yet. There was something wrong with a setting and I’m not sure if my fix was a one-time thing or if it took.  I’ll post antoher video of Frank howling in the tent tomorrow. Knock on wood.  Anyhow, here’s Frank, having finally found that he has a voice! A deep one, too.  :o)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2015 in Travels

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Oh, the Weather Outside …

  1. dale isom

    December 11, 2015 at 2:18 am

    love the howl and the videos of Frank in general–so glad ur having a great journey together–continued blessings to come–

    Like

     
  2. jeanie maginness

    December 11, 2015 at 9:31 am

    It warms my heart to hear you are aware of your non-dperessed state of mind. I know it makes you proud…I can feel it in your blog writing. Looking forward to hearing your description of Frank’s reaction to your cot LMAO
    Hugs to you, Jeff and Frank….2 Awesome Old Vagabonds ❤

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
