RSS

Photo Update

11 Dec

I think I jinxed the weather with my opening to yesterday’s blog entry. We woke up this morning to overcast and drizzle. The rain’s subsided now that we’re in mid-afternoon, but the wind is blowing something fierce! It actually uprooted one of my heavy-duty tent stakes.

I’m not sure, but I think I have an issue with one of the corner poles, too … it’s not at full height compared to the other poles, even though the center knob in the pole is engaged and is showing that’s not the case. Hopefully it’s just the wind pushing against the tent and not allowing it to stand straight Knock on wood.

I’m still waiting for my cot to show up. Len says the UPS guy usually arrives just before 5pm. Hopefully I’ll be able to get it in time to set it up before nightfall … I don’t think I have it in me to spend another night laid out on the ground.

I was joking with some on-line friends this morning about how my “good” hip was feeling as ornery as the bad one and thought it would make a great stanza for a country and western song:

Oh, my good hip feels like my bad one did in Denver,
and Denver seems like a long, long time ago.
But they don’t compare to the ache in my heart since you left me.
What I’m doing here in Texas, I don’t know.

I’ve been riding down the road with my dog since morning.
My right boot’s worn and my left ones got a hole.
And Dog is thinking, “Just where the hell’re we going?”
I’d tell him if I could, but I just don’t know.

Frank’s not too keen on the lyric, seeing as how I referred to him as “Dog” … he sort of came around though, once I told him he was going to get half of the royalties (I won’t tell him that half of zero is … well, zero).  He also pointed out that we weren’t anywhere near Denver.  He’s very literal for a beagle and didn’t buy the whole “literary license” explanation I gave him.  Everybody’s a critic!

I’ll have to fill that out at some point before I hit Livingston, TX, so I can play it when I jam with Mike, an old long-time friend from my Dallas high school days.

So here are some of the photos I took along the way.

paloduro1sThese first few are from Palo Duro Canyon, just south of Amarillo. Frank and I stopped there on the second day of our trip from La Veta to Lake Corpus Christi. This is where he took a fall trying to beat me out of the car. He’s not been showing any sign of a limp over the past week, so I’m really hoping he’s over that now. For a while after his fall, he’d come up lame every couple of days or so, hopping around on 3 legs whenever he started running around too much. The vet couldn’t find anything wrong with him. Of course, his doggie HMO wouldn’t pay for x-rays until January, so I’ll get him checked out next month, just to be sure.

paloduro2sPalo Duro Canyon is the second largest canyon in the states, after the Grand Canyon. Granted, it’s nowhere near as deep, it’s just expansive. The colors were spectacular. We drove about a couple miles down into and palodurodown1sthrough it until we came to a place where the road had been damaged by a gullywasher. Looking back, that might have been an omen for what we experience a week or so later.

Lake Corpus Christi State Park is the locale for the next few shots. It’s about a half-hour north of the city by the same name.  I have to say, it was really relaxing there (right up until we had to evacuate because of the massive downpour and flooding that hit Texas).  With the exception of the weekend, we pretty much had our loop of the park all to ourselves. The “loop” allowed for more than 30 campsites around a circle … half on the inside and half on the outside of the road.  My individual campsite was really big – the biggest one we’ve had so far on our journey.  lake viewSince there weren’t many people, the deer were quie brazen in coming down from the scrub brush … every morning and early evening, we’d see a herd of about 5-8 of them, munching away on the grass. They were little things, not like the deer in La Veta. By the way, isn’t this a nice sunset? We had a few of those before the storms hit.suppertimesunset

Oh, guess what???  The UPS guy just came.  I hve to cut this off now and see about setting up a cot!  I’ll post a few more photos tomorrow.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 11, 2015 in Travels

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Photo Update

  1. jeanie maginness

    December 12, 2015 at 8:48 am

    Anticipating your morning posts about the “COT 🙂

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
