RSS

Short and Sweet

10 Feb

Laptop crashed this morning. It’s been going for the last few days.  Screen going multicolor.  Was hoping to avoid having to pay for replacement right now, but it is what it is.  At least I had the sense to pull all my desktop stuff up into my OneDrive cloud last night before it went out completely. Now it won’t even boot.  Biggest loss at this point will be my favorites on my browser … I had a whole setup named “Vagabond” that had all my trip-related stuff in a folder.  Maybe I’ll be able to recover that later.

 

I’m not good at updating on the phone. Lousy interface.  Just want to say “Thank you” a million times over for all the help that people provided through youcaring.com.  Frank and I will break camp on Sunday and head west to pick up the used teardrop trailer we wrote about the other day.  Will fill in more once my new laptop arrives tomorrow.  I was pulling money out of savings for the trailer … another $250 isn’t really a big deal in the grand scheme of things, I  suppose.  “It’s all worked out before. Trust that it will work out again.”

I’ll fix typos and spacing stuff 3hen the new laptop arrives tomorrow.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2016 in Musings

 

3 responses to “Short and Sweet

  1. standalonehobo

    February 10, 2016 at 11:57 am

    When it gets cold outside (below or at freezing), your laptop becomes very cold itself. If you turn it on without first slowly warming it up to a decent temperature (leaving it in a room for a few hours for example), your laptop heats up too fast, which causes massive condensation. This damages all parts of your laptop, including your screen and hard drive. I keep my electronics warmish by storing them next to me in my sleeping bag. My laptop doesn’t really fit into my new bag though, so I wrap it in blankets and let it warm up for several hours the next day before using it. Hope you have more luck with your next laptop!

    Like

     
  2. Donna

    February 10, 2016 at 12:29 pm

    Yup, it will all work out. My Aunt Jean always says, “Worrying never solved a thing.” Just keep moving forward, one foot in front of the other, one step at a time. Ben and Rowdy send a big woof to Frank! 🙂 Donna

    Like

     
  3. jeanie maginness

    February 10, 2016 at 6:04 pm

    “It’s all worked out before. Trust that it will work out again.” 🙂

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
