RSS

Short and Sweet Redux

14 Feb

The last few days have seemed like a whirlwind!  Laptop arrived and I got that set up to the point of usability. I have to remove all the crap they loaded onto it and then move stuff over from my old laptop.  That can all come later.

The hitch arrived and it was installed on the car yesterday.  I can see that I’m going to have to adjust how I drive a bit. It’s pretty low to the ground and scrapes when I come and go from parking lots if they’re on too much of an incline.  That’ll be interesting.

I planned on packing up the car yesterday afternoon (Saturday).  The best laid plans, though … we got back from the hitch installation and I sat down in the camp chair at about 1:45 pm.  Next thing I knew, it was almost 5:30 pm!  I totally zoned out!  Frank was no help, whatsoever!  I woke up before he did. He was asleep under the chair and snoring away.  Frank’s never met a nap that he didn’t like.  :o)

So here we are – it’s a little after 8 am and I’ve been cleaning out the tent for the past hour.  Got to the point of packing up the laptop and figured I’d do a quick blog post before putting it away in the briefcase.

We’re headed out. Out west to be precise. Out to southern California, to be even more precise, to pick up our new home on wheels.  It’s going to be a long 3 days on the road, possibly four if I decide not to push it.  In my youth, I’d have made this trip in two days, max. But that’s not me anymore, especially with my little buddy riding shotgun. With the way the car’s been packed, he’s not had a lot of room to stretch what with the sleeping bag on the floor in front of him and the guitar draped over the top of the passenger seat above him.  We’ll stop a few times each day to stretch our legs.

I’m hoping to break camp and be on the road by noon.  Hopefully the tent cooperates when I take it down. It’s been sagging more every day and it looks like the main support beam has bent a little more in the month we’ve been here. It could very well snap.

The goal is to hit Fort Stockton, TX tonight. It’ll probably be about 7 hours total on the road, plus stops.  That’ll be one of the longest drives we’ve had since we started out … until tomorrow, that is.  If we’re not too tired, I’m planning on driving past Tucson on Monday. Knock on wood.

Thank you to everyone who’s made this next part of the trip possible. Without your help, we wouldn’t be going on this drive to pick up trailer!  God bless each and every one of you for your help.

That’s it for now. Wish us luck on the next leg of our journey.  :o)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 14, 2016 in Travels

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Short and Sweet Redux

  1. jeanie maginness

    February 14, 2016 at 4:41 pm

    Good luck kids ! I’m a bit confused about whether you’ll be returning to your old campsite, or if it’s truly time to move on….Take it Easy…..stand on the corner of Winslow AZ if you get a chance.
    It’s such a fine sight to see LOL

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
