RSS

Medical Update

23 Aug

So as it turns out, I have something wrong with my heart. There’s a blockage. The test I took was digital, in a manner of speaking. It could only tell whether or not there was a blockage. I don’t know how severe it is, or where exactly it is.

I have an appointment on Thursday for a consultation with a cardiologist, after which they will schedule a procedure down in Houston.

The problem is logistics. The doctor won’t know what needs to be done until the procedure is underway. Best case, I go home that afternoon with a treatment plan primarily made up of pharmaceuticals. The middle case is that I have to have stents inserted, which means an overnight stay and three to five days a rehabilitation where I can’t drive. Worst case, I have to have a bypass, which could mean months of rest and rehabilitation. Not the best situation when you’re living out in the boonies in a teardrop trailer!

I’m trying to handle the logistics now. A friend has put me in touch with a not-for-profit organization that offers a place to stay for people in my situation. I hope to have an answer in a couple of days as to whether they’ll be able to put me up in the event I need a place to stay, long term. I had another friend who’s offered to put me up for a few days if all I need are stents. So we’ll see what happens.

The big question is arranging care for Frank. One of the people at the not-for-profit is a big dog lover, and I was told that they might have some ideas. What I’ll have to arrange for will probably be something along the lines of foster care. A place where he can stay for an extended time period without me having to give him up.

I don’t know yet what this does to me travel plans. Obviously. My initial thought was that I would resume my itinerary in October, picking up in Virginia and heading south in the Florida before returning to Texas around Christmas. I may wind up just staying here, though. I don’t know that I want to do that much travel over such a short period of time.

The other consideration is whether. This area is projected to have an unseasonably wet winter. If you remember this place, the Triple Creek music and RV Park that I stayed at last February, it’s at the end of a three mile dirt road, out in the boonies. We were cut off from the mainland last February for a while after along rain. Hell, we were cut off for most of the past week, too! I really don’t know that I want to have to deal with that on a regular basis while I’m recuperating, or even if I’m fully recovered!

The other thought I had Kama assuming I fully recover in a short period of time, is to head to New Mexico for the winter. There are some places in the southern part of the state that offer some very inexpensive RV parking and we keep us out of a winter of inclement weather.

But first things first. I’ll post something after I visit with the doctor with an update on our accommodations.

Thoughts and prayers are appreciated. Thanks as always for everyone’s support.

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2016 in Planning

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Medical Update

  1. Donna

    August 23, 2016 at 1:01 pm

    Well, it sounds like you’re making a plan and getting your ducks in a row. The not-for-profit place/help sounds like a good deal, they’ll find a place for you AND Frank. Foster care is great for Frank because you get people who LOVE dogs, have dogs, are dog knowledegable and want to help, and it’s FREE. I worked with a rescue group as a foster, that’s how I came to adopt both Ben & Rowdy. Hopefully, they’ll have a foster who knows Beagles and they’re mischief, escape artist ways! I think the New Mexico winter digs sounds GREAT! Hopefully, no rain there, geesh!

    Steady as you go, one day at a time, that’s all any of us can do, all the Good Lord intended for us to do. You have people in your corner, more than you realize.

    🙂 Donna

    Like

     
  2. standalonehobo

    August 23, 2016 at 3:32 pm

    It will all work out Frank! It seems like this summer has been rough for many of us; you´re in good company! Hang in there. Sending lots of Colorado sunshine your way!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. bettyboop101853

    August 23, 2016 at 5:35 pm

    Keeping you in my Prayers for a resonable solution to your medical situation. I wish I was there to help you out! I have been through this blockage and stent proceedure ; it is pretty easy procedure to go through and recover from. However, you have Frank to contend with, so, that makes recovery a little more touchy. Because you need to take it easy for a few days afterwards. God is watching over you two guys and a solution will happen to take care of all your needs. Wish you could ship Frank here to me. Listen to what the Dr.’s arevtelling you. Watch your diet very carefully!

    Like

     
  4. jeanie maginness

    August 24, 2016 at 6:04 am

    I am thinking about you and your hopes and fears….Just remember what that little blurb on the dashboard of your car says…..I know everything will work out for the two of you…
    ❤ ❤

    Like

     
  5. centerforcreativework

    August 25, 2016 at 9:52 am

    All our prayers and thoughts to you.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
