RSS

Back on the Road!

06 Nov

It’s been awhile since the last blog post, and I apologize for that. The heart procedure was done, there were no complications and I’m fully recuperated. Thank you to everyone who offered thoughts, prayers, and words of encouragement.

Tomorrow, Frank and I are finally getting back on the road. It’s been WAY too long! We’re headed back to the Dallas area and will return to the Lake Park campground in Lewisville, where we spent a little time this past spring.

I’m still having to work off the phone. That’s been a major impediment towards making any blog posts. Well, let me rephrase that. It’s been an easy excuse to not make them. I’ve been having a bit of an issue with procrastination again. But hopefully that will be taken care of once Frank and I get back into the routine of moving around.

The problem certainly seemed to disappear right after we started out from Charleston eighteen months ago. But sitting around  East Texas for the last four and a half months has  been tough. The anxiety over medical issues. Dealing with the unknown as opposed to having a well planned  itinerary that had to be unceremoniously dumped. And then there was the waiting. This sitting around the campground in the heat, first waiting for the medical stuff to all be completed and then waiting until we could get things squared away in order to leave. I’d be lying if I said it didn’t take a bit of a toll on my psyche. Some of the healing work that took place has been undone a little bit. But  when I look at where we’re starting from as we get back underway tomorrow? There’s no comparison to the mental state I started out with  when we left  Charleston. So I’m optimistic that it won’t be too long before we’re back in the groove and moving forward. Both geographically and mentally!

Eighteen months on the road! It seems almost incomprehensible. Not that I had any expectations when we started out, but iit’s a bit hard to comprehend  that we’ve been doing this for a year and a half. And this is the longest that Frank and I have been in one place over that time span. I am very, very happy that it’s come to an end.

I’ve got a lot of news to share but we will do that right after we alight at our next camp. We’ve built our itinerary up again and it involves a return to the East Coast. We’ve upgraded our membership in the Thousand Trails camping program which has given us additional benefits, expanded the area within which we can move around, and will result in a huge savings! I’ll fill you in in a few days.

So that’s it for now. I can’t adequately put into words how much I’m looking forward to returning to the road. Especially with an optimistic feeling. Optimism! That’s not something with which I have been associated very much. LOL

Stay tuned …

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 6, 2016 in Travels

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Back on the Road!

  1. jeanie maginness

    November 7, 2016 at 6:54 am

    Optimism does a body good.

    Like

     
  2. standalonehobo

    November 8, 2016 at 11:47 am

    I am glad you are doing well! There is nothing better than the excitement of upcoming travel. Take care!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
